If it doesn’t make you think, then you must be brain dead

I read alot. Books, newspapers, blog posts, magazines: my craving for knowledge is insatiable, which could be a bad thing, if I were only reading to pass the time. I got interested in psychology when I was in the third grade while my dad was taking college courses to get into seminary, so when he would lay his psychology book down I would pick it up and read it. I was fascinated with delusional processes and how the mind works to assemble reality. I even read some Freud for a good laugh. As I got older, I came to realize that my interest in learning how the mind works was driving me toward something that this culture has been turning its back on: the Bible.
Now, however you may feel about it doesn’t really match up with certain claims made in it. This isn’t to start an argument, but to make an observation as such, but to examine certain claims that just aren’t borne out by the evidence. I’m not a psychiatrist or a psychologist, but I have spent a lot of time studying it before I shifted to my current major.
One of the biggest arguments offered by non-believers about the God described in the bible is that he is malicious, egotistical, malevolent, capricious…well, whatever else they can come up with. Most of these arguments are based on verses taken out of their context and given a pop-psy twist, but when one actually takes time to understand the learn the context (which is very important no matter what you’re reading), to dig a little deeper than a mere surface reading, to dig into the psychology of not only the people who were writing the record of events (which is what the bible claims to be: how God has interacted with man from creation to at least 65A and, by implication, still does) when one actually thinks about the implication that the Bible really makes, you may be left aghast, you may be left speechless, you may be left disgusted, but it does what it says, it really sorts people out.
Those who are disgusted by it often take issues with its moral claims because what is going on in their lives is in direct opposition to the prescription within it and use the morality within it to condemn it. People that are left aghast by it, don’t know what to do with it so they choose to doubt it. Those that are left speechless are often those whose consciences are under conviction, I was like that: I knew something was wrong but I didn’t know what it was or how to fix it, when the truth was that I couldn’t fix it, it had to be fixed for me, so I was left with a choice: believe it or not believe it and live in accordance with that decision.
Straightforward and simple, still leaves me wondering why people have a problem with it though.

Leave a Reply

